Thursday, December 22, 2011

VINNIE VINCENT INVASION LIVE @ ROCK AND ROLL HEAVEN 1988

I think Vinnie Vincent is awesome, and lets face it, this dude can shred! I know most of you like Canadian Slaughter better than Mark Slaughter, you can suck it. Vinnie Vincent shreds..so we'll call it even.but I won't get into that.
Surfing around the noobtube I found a full VVI concert playing at none other than the defunct Rock and Roll Heaven! I couldn't find a flyer but apparently the show was July 18th 1988. Take a gander and enjoy! Thanks to the dude who took the time to upload this!

Set List:
01. Burn
02. Naughty Naughty
03. Ashes To Ashes
04. Let Freedom Rock
05. Back On The Streets
06. Blues Jam
07. Shoot You Full Of Love
08. Vinnie's Solo
09. Boyz Are Gonna Rock
10. Bobby's Solo
11. Twisted
12. Animal
13. Lick it up

Line-Up:

Mark Slaughter - Vocal
Vinnie Vincent - Guitar
Dana Strum - Bass
Bobby Rock - Drums

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

UPCOMING SHOWS! SUPPORT LIVE BANDS!

I find that live shows are one of the most important aspects of music, and although a CD(tape/record/etc) might be the solution to listening to bands that are not local, it is important not to forget to support bands when they do play a show. Whether they be local or from abroad. Here are a few upcoming shows that I think are worth checking out, if you know any upcoming shows I have missed feel free to contact me so I can add them!

Friday December 2nd at the NEW Hard Luck, previously known as The Poor Alex, we have a slew of great metal bands. Locals Ash Lee Blade, Joe Thrasher releasing their new album, Sanktuary supporting their "Boozed, Used & Abused" tour, Possessed Steel's first gig in awhile, Fast as Fuck and High Voltage!

The next night, Saturday December 3rd we have Skull Fist's CD release for their "Head of the Pack" album. I would have much rather that they had made an actual show with a few other bands instead of co-organizing it with Toxic Vision, I'm interested in the music not the chicks. Regardless I'm sure their performance will not disappoint, not to mention Casey will be looking sexy.


Saturday December 17th we have the eighth installation of the on-going Brampton Basement Shows. While they do include other genres, it is primarily a punk and metal show. This show has an all punk line up featuring GTA veterans Hazardous Waste, Endow (EP RELEASE), Direct Approach, Wastoids, Snake Charmer, Bad Intentions and Real Time. As always, No Booze, No Drugs, No Crab, this is a house show.


Sanktuary heads out on a few Canadian dates on their "Boozed, Used & Abused" Tour! Check it out if they're coming to a city near you!


Sunday January 22nd 2012! This show I don't know much about yet as it is pretty far in the future, but it's a doom set your not gonna want to miss! Great locals Blood Ceremony opening for Swedish band Ghost. While I still can't decide 100% if I like Ghost, their music is really interesting and intriguing.


Friday, November 18, 2011

Evict Rob Ford

This Saturday there will be an "Evict Rob Ford" rally in support of those taking part in Occupy Toronto, who were almost evicted from St. James Park a few days ago.
I hope to attend this and hope many others who feel the same way will also show there support, because if we don't speak up, how will anyone know that there is something wrong?

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Metalian/Sanktuary/Black Moor - Tundrastruck Split (Canada) 2011


Metalian:

This 3 way split starts out with Montreal's Metalian, Airborne Assassins. The song kicks out in high speed, the vocals are one of the best parts of this song, just soaring over the riffs sounding like a valiant conquest from the sky. If you haven't heard Metalian before, all you would need to do is hear their live Judas Priest covers, Ian's vocals are so powerful he could even give Halford a run for his money. Of course I wouldn't expect much less from Metalian, they get stronger album to album, it's unfortunate that there is only one song by each band on this split but you can expect a new Metalian album out in December, entitled "Rock Solid" on Heavy Artillery Records.

http://www.myspace.com/metaliantheband 

Sanktuary:
Raise The Flag is faithful track number two. Now without wanting to compare, I hear alittle of early Metallica even alittle Pound for Pound Anvil in this track. Without a doubt this is a beer drinking metal anthem. It makes me feel like slamming my text book against my vandalized desk and telling Ms.Sulley to "Fuck off, art history blows!"
Shit, that was grade 9 and I've been outta high-school for two years...

http://www.myspace.com/sanktuaryslays

Black Moor:

The split ends on Black Moor's Awaken The Dead, and unfortunately not on as high a note as anticipated. The intro riffs sounds alittle too "new school metal" for me. Once the song gets going it is easier to get into, kicking into Megadeth doppelganging with quick leads before losing into the new age riffs again. Vocally everything is good and very thrashy, however my Wontong soup and Rep Cap can't be swayed.
Thing is, I've seen Black Moor live and they were nothing short of amazing, I would recommend everyone to check out their live shows! Killer tunes and so much power and energy on stage, but for those who haven't had the chance to witness them live, I wouldn't judged them for this song.

http://www.myspace.com/blackmoormain

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Pins for sale!

I have lots of pins for sale, 75cents each or three for $2.
Many different bands including Motorhead, Exciter, Dio, Sword, Tank, Overkill, Accept, Slaughter, Whiplash and much much more! Custom pins available upon request.

Wholesale rates for bands also available. Please contact.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

R.I.P. Blackout



Although this is quite late I feel as though it still needed to be written. Unfortunately this summer marked the end of Brampton Heavy Metal band Blackout. And though their tenure was short, those who had a chance to witness them should agree they did more than just hold it down. 
 
Mixing the likes of Coney Hatch and Running Wild, Blackout delivered a slightly different sound then most metal bands today. Although the split is indefinite they haven't ruled out the possibility of starting up where they left off later on in the future (but I wouldn't hold my breath though). 
At the moment vocalist/guitarist Jay is working on a another metal project possibly along the same veins as Blackout, while Tom currently plays guitar in Brampton based punk band Endow. During their run they played many shows including co-organizing of The Brampton Basement Shows and opening for Montreal's Metalian.
Originally a three piece, they had gone through several members (including yours truly) before the final line up of Jay (Vocals/Guitar), Tom (Guitar), Josh (Bass) & Matt (Drums). As sad as it must of been for them to play their last shows, the latter two were by far their best deliverance and left Blackout on a high note.

www.myspace.com/black.outheavymetal






Cromlech - Debut Ritual @ The 460 Sept. 24th 2011

Ahhhh, another 460 show. Although this bar has generally lost it's luster for me I still enjoy it's company from time to time, and with 10$ pitchers who can complain! (You will in the morning when that cheap beer gives you a pounding head-ache and shits with a vengeance!)
But seriously folk, along with the story. Three fourths of Death/Black Metal band Into Oblivion helps form Toronto's newest Doom band, Cromlech.
Echoing in the epic doom style of bands such as Candlemass, Pentagram, Pagan Alter and such veins, Cromlech delivers something quite refreshing.
They start their set with their strongest number; all of the songs I'm hearing for the first time so I don't know any of the names, I'm going to refer to them as song 1, 2, 3, 4.
Song 1 is very long and has many riffs including cool harmonies and great doom solos, many guitarist lose them selves trying to be the fastest but these lento leads show that speed isn't everything!
All the songs are mid paced head banging tunes worthy of denim and leather with the general exception of song 3 which is definitely the weakest, lacking substance and uninspiring, this song is boring and dragged on.
It didn't help that they ended their set with an equally long instrumental, which would be better suited with vocals, but musically it's still a good song.

This being their first gig, their nervousness showed through quite thick and resulted in them being alittle sloppy. They still need to tighten and work on their intricacy and timing. The vocals could also use alot of work as you can tell they are still finding their voice, however Cromlech definitely shows promise to be another great band added to the growing Toronto scene if they continue in the path they've foreshadowed.


Photos courtesy of Amanda McCausland

Monday, October 17, 2011

Diabolical Demon Director - 2011 Sampler (AUSTRALIA) 2011


This sampler is a collection of newer and old material gathered from various EP's and Splits between 2009-2011 with the newer tunes being the better off the bunch. Rough and dirty, Diabolical Demon Director thrashs some black evil speed with ferocity. Nothing spectacular really, at first taste I didn't like it but after awhile it kinda flows like the type of background music you'd play when crushing beers and equally crushing the weak. Although I probably won't listen to this on my spare time I won't totally cast it aside, the art work is very well done and is generally what got me to listen to this in the first place. Fast and Evil but there's not much else.


www.myspace.com/diabolicaldemondirector

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Back For More

(Walks into office, sits down in chair. Blows dust off paper work, attempts to clean. Looks up from desk.) 
 Yup, if anyone noticed...I've been gone for quite awhile eh. Where? Well nowhere really. No fancy vacations or road trips for me, I've been here all along but unfortunately haven't been able to muster up anything creative in much over-due time. Like ignoring your girlfriend, I've felt guilty for building this up and then casting it aside. But this is my job, and I won't call in sick anymore. I have some big plans for this, won't say what but some changes coming up soon. I will still be putting some reviews and news on here also!
But Of course I haven't been completely wasting away, other then slaving away on my 9-2-5 party store job, (Taking up all my precious time) I have been drafted to the big leagues! Yes it is true, I am the new coffee fetching Temp at the CHROMIUM estates. Seems that all the "Wax on, wax off" finally paid off. The days of fancy jets, All Access Passes and pool bars severed by bikini clad babes are among us! Look for me in Chromium Dioxide IV: Steele Diamond!

 Chilling with Ex-Blackout/Endow guitarist Tom Carvalho 

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Diemond's C.C. Diemond on The Bad Pack


Diemonds are sitting on the edge right now, on the brink of releasing their first full-length album, The Bad Pack. I got guitarist C.C. Diemond to fill me in on some of the deets.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Midnight Priest - Rainha Da Magia Negra EP (PORTUGAL) 2009

What really intrigued me to checkout Midnight Priest was to see if the music was as good as the cover. If anything says foreign metal 86', it's this.

Damage - Less Silence, More Violence DEMO (AUSTRIA) 2009

Right off the bat I have to start this review stating the fact that I am partial against death and death-thrash metal; this is, in fact, a death-thrash album.

Hallows Die Announce Canadian Tour‏

Not really my thing, but these guys messaged me so I figured I'll toss them a bone. Plus they opened for Atheist a few days ago and it's quite a task to independently book a tour. So here it is:

Fresh off their destruction of the East Coast tour last summer, Toronto Ontario’s Melodic Death Metal act Hallows Die are set to head off on an independently booked 23 day tour of Canada titled “Penetrate the Pacific 2011”. "With the end-goal in mind of promoting their sophomore album “MASKS” (Tentative release date: August 2011) the boys will be hitting both large cities and some smaller markets in their attempt to infect fellow metal heads with their unique sound and stage presence. The tour will kick off on May 13th in the Northern Ontario town of Sault Ste. Marie and climax in Vancouver on May 23rd, before the heading back towards Ontario."

http://www.myspace.com/hallowsdie

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Striker Nominated For Metal Artist Of The Year

Edmonton, Alberta's Striker has been nominated to win an "Indie", for best metal artist of the year. For those of you who ask, "What is an "Indie"?". Well my friend, its 11th Annual Independent Music Awards, the "Grammys" of the indie scene if you will. Striker is facing up against several bands including Canadian Heavy Weights; Annihilator and 3 Inches Of Blood to name a few. With out a doubt I know Striker deserves it most, so make sure you vote! It takes less then a minute to fill out, so don't hesitate and show some support.

Vote Here

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Canadian doomers Cauchemar to play shows in Chile

 Montreal doom trio Cauchemar (french for nightmare), a band that plays in the realms of Paul Chain, Pagan Altar and Black Sabbath, are playing four dates in Chile this month. 

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Skull Fist's Jackie Slaughter tells us a bit about their recent tour and plans for 2011

Toronto's Skull Fist have been kicking around the back streets for awhile now, but the past year has proven Skull Fist is in it for the long run. Several tours and a new EP has really driven them as one of the top current Canadian metal bands and I'm sure there's a lot more to come. I got Jackie Slaughter to fill us in on some details of coming news(and a few old ones); including their recent escapade in Europe!

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Cauldron - Burning Fortune release @ Sneeky Dees Feb. 11th 2011


Friday February 11th 2011, a typical cold Canadian night, the night of the Burning Fortune release party. I had to get there early to make sure what happened last time doesn't happen again.  It's only 7:30 and it won't be for another few hours until the masses conjure, but this gives me time to chat up the bands and hear the sound checks. C.C. Diemond fills me in on the details of their new album as Cauldron sound-checks to "Chained Up In Chains". This is as good an indication as any, Cauldron's on their A game tonight.

Hooded Priest - Call For The Hearse DEMO (NETHERLANDS) 2009

Something about Hooded Priest strikes an unusual accord with my high judgmental standards. These Dutch doomers play simple occult tunes but for some reason this release sticks to me. 

Friday, February 18, 2011

The Basement Show Part 4: Punk & Heavy Metal

 
Sorry for the short notice but Friday February 18th (today) is The 4th Basement Show! Come bang your head in a small, hot and crowded basement to some local punk & metal and support D.I.Y. This basement show includes Direct Approach from Toronto, Concussion from Newmarket and Brampton home-teamers; Blackout and Endow. The doors are at 5pm and the show starts at 6pm. Early show so everyone can go out and party after, as this is not a venue there is no drinking. 5$ at the door to help cover the costs of equipment rentals.
58 Pressed Brick Drive, Brampton, Ontario

Click here for the facebook event page!

Friday, February 4, 2011

Slow week, but much more to come!


Unfortunately this week things have been a little slow and I wasn't able to get much work done. On the plus side in the next two weeks I'm gonna be posting some solid stuff including; interviews, band spotlights, reviews and more. So check back soon!

Cauldron "Burning Fortune" Release Party Friday Febuary 11th 2011

Next Friday marks the album release party for Canadian Metallers Cauldron, as they storm out with their second full-length; "Burning Fortune". This promising album is sure to turn some heads as it solidifies there strong growing reputation. Joining them on stage are Toronto locals, Diemonds(also dropping an anticipating album soon), Tiger Star and ex-Goat Horn members Flying Fortress. Definitely a show you won't want to miss. Here's a preview of songs off the new album.

All Or Nothing
Miss You To Death

Cobra/Skull – Poison In The Bones Split (PERU/COLOMBIA) 2009

Cobra/Skull – Poison In The Bones Split (PERU/COLOMBIA) 2009
A CD split from two South American bands with cover art that strikes similar to Oz’s Fire In The Brain. The album has above average production for South America and also features a Tank worthy cover of “(He Fell In Love With A) Stormtooper” with music played by Cobra and rougher vocals than Algy Ward sung by Skull.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Children Of Doom - Ride Over The Green Valley DEMO (FRANCE) 2009

Presumably named after the Saint Vitus song, Children Of Doom offer us a lower class taste of raw, heavy, drone doom metal. This is the first release by the French trio, and the novicity shows. The rough production feels like a wet

Ash Lee Blade - Suck The Blade LP (CANADA) 2010

To be honest I’m quite impressed, a band I have often overlooked, Ash Lee Blade is a perfect example of a good band almost missed by my own stuck up ignorance. I won’t take the full blame for it though; “Suck The Blade” is flying colours above their 2007 self-titled EP and has a

Friday, January 21, 2011

Stryker – Possessed By Heavy Metal DEMO (CANADA) 2010

My cassette player became possessed with the valiant effort of this B.C. trio’s piece of chromium. Although the recordings are of a rough basement quality that will make even the basement blush, there’s no mistaking the power behind

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Bad Joke – Jester’s Vengeance DEMO (CHILE) 2007


The blood of German speed metal seems to run thick through the veins of Bad Joke as they pound out this five song demo. These “Heavy Speed Metal Maniacs” throw a furious assault loud and not so clear, but the rough production sways things in their favour adding edge and intensity as they imitate

Witchcurse – Heavy Metal Poison LP (GREECE) 2010


As I listen, I struggle with deciding how I really feel about this album. Its thin sounding mediocrity really does nothing to persuade my indecisive mind. Very standard unoriginal riffs and melodies that might have come from the recycle bin

Midnight Malice – Pray For Death DEMO (CANADA) 2010

The first effort from this four-piece outfit (featuring 2 Ex-Skull Fist members) plays some classic heavy metal with great power and speed. The album kicks off with the self-titled track, fast riffs immediately ensue with all guns blazing,

Endow – Tax This! DEMO (CANADA) 2010


This Brampton based Hardcore Punk band offers this paper D.I.Y. demo and stays true to the original hardcore. These days just saying hardcore makes me cringe. Those words have been so diluted today that it means nothing to the true sense of the term. Even if you don’t like punk, these songs are heavy

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Introduction

Hard & Heavy, records, Reviews and metal news, where I will be posting all of said things and maybe more! All I do is listen to metal all day, so I might as well write about! I’m too young to know of the glory days of metal but there still are some great bands out there. Too many people say “Ohhh all the metal bands these days suck compared to the old school.” Well it’s up to YOU to stop being lazy and to find the bands that are still keeping the spirit alive! Get off your lazy ass and go to a show! Buy an album from the band! Support the scene and prove that metals not dead! And stop caring about what people think and grow your hair!
-Inti Paredes