Wednesday, June 27, 2012

UPCOMING SHOW: AXXION DEBUT!!!!



This Friday will be the omnius debut of local band AXXION. Featuring prominent members of the Toronto Heavy Metal scene, this show is surely not one to miss!

Also playing are APOKALYPTIK WARRIOR, while I do not know much about them, I've heard rumors that this band features an ex-RAMMER member.

Headlining of course is Calgary born, MIDNIGHT MALICE. The next fore runners to the top of Toronto Metal scene amid the absence of our other touring metal locals.

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

HARD & HEAVY ZINE ISSUE 1!

It took me long enough, but it's finally here! The first H&H issue. 20 pages, black and white on 8.5x11. Great for reading on the toilet, not so great for wiping with however...
Features Metal news, Canadian reviews, import reviews, Arrg Rock article, live reports (Cauldron, Cromlech, Diemonds), band spotlight (Possessed Steel), an interview (Skull Fist) and a few small tid bits of stuff.
Some of it is old stuff from this blog with some new stuff thrown in, don't worry the second issue will be all new stuff.
So hit me up if you'd like a copy, technically they're $1, but I'd be down for trades of any sorts: Other zines, demos, juice boxes, gum, waffles, hjs, bjs, etc.

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Killer Slaughter Interview


I found this really informative interview with Terry and Dave from Slaughter online a few days ago. Alot of good information there that I'm sure many of you never knew! An old fanzine turned website called Voices From The Dark Side is the culprit of this knowledgeable output. They also have PDF scans of their back issue's which is cool to check out! Here's the link to the SLAUGHTER INTERVIEW!

Old Kill Cheerleader Article

I could probably credit my whole existence in the Toronto heavy metal scene probably to this article. Back when I was a young metalhead growing up in the suburbs I thought I was the only guy around who listened to metal anymore. Sure everybody listens to Metallica and Iron Maiden, but when I started to discover Exodus, Venom, Accept and Mercyful Fate nobody knew what I was talking about! I sure as hell didn't think there were any new metal bands around....
I picked up an issue of skateboard mag called Concrete and that's where I found this article for Kill Cheerleader. Their metal/punk sleaze was exactly what I thought wasn't around. But wait, it wasn't...they we're already broken up! But I found out what the guys from Cheerleader were doing, Jason Decay was in Goat Horn and then formed Cauldron, Jackie Slaughter was in Skull Fist and through that I found the Toronto metal scene which has been slowly growing since! Most of you fuckers just wanna read the article so do it! (click the picture and then right-click view image to zoom in)

Eat The Rich...er, Tax The Rich

An article that I found in the Toronto Star, I would see it to be true...

Thursday, March 29, 2012

UPCOMING SHOWS!

ATTENTION HEADBANGERS!!! HERE ARE SOME IMPORTANT DATES OF UPCOMING GIGS TO KEEP IN MIND!

03/30/12 LAST SHOWS AT SIESTA NOUVEAUX! HAZ WAZ, SOUL CONTROL, TOTAL TRASH, DIRECT APPROACH AND SOME OTHER DUDES! $5

03/31/12 THE REAL LAST DAY AT SIESTA - URBAN BLIGHT, SCHOOL JERKS AND SOME OTHER PUNK DUDES! $5

03/31/12 SKULL FIST @ THE HARD LUCK WITH SHIT BAND LUST BOYS AND DEBUT OF NEWEST TORONTO METAL CALL OF THE WILD!

04/01/12 SPEEDWOLF (MOTORHEAD TYPE DUDES FROM DENVER) WITH SYLVUS, SEPULCHRE AND KYFE. AT THE BLACK SWAN! $10

04/03/12 ONSLAUGHT, M:PIRE OF EVIL (aka MANTAS FROM VENOM) + GUESTS!
$16.50 ADVANCE TICKETS. THE ANNEX WRECKROOM

04/06/12 NUCLEARHAMMER, INTO OBLIVION, BEFOULED SERENITY. BLACK SWAN! $10

04/21/12 MIDNIGHT MALICE, FLYING FORTRESS (2 GUYS FROM GOAT HORN), AND CALL OF THE WILD! BOVINE SEX CLUB AND ONLY $5!!!

04/29/12 DAYGLO ABORTIONS WITH OTHER GUYS @ THE HARD LUCK! $10

05/17/12 ANVIL! with ROB's sons shitty band caym... $20 @ THE ROCKPILE

05/19/12 DESTRUCTION, VITAL REMAINS, WARBRINGER + MORE! @ THE ROCKPILE $27.50 ADVANCE TICKETS!
LET ME KNOW IF THERE ARE ANY METAL/PUNK SHOWS I HAVE MISSED!

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Hard & Heavy Zine! Issue One on the way!

I'm just putting the finishing touches on the first issue of the Hard & Heavy Zine; Hard and Heavy Records, Reviews, and Metal News. Pretty much this is gonna take over the blog, as I think it is time to continue in the true manner, with this Zine. I will still make posts but things like reviews and such will be going into the Zines. The first issue is mainly going to be stuff already on the blog with a few added extras. Stay tuned, you won't be disappointed!

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

New Step For Hard and Heavy

After much mental planning I've decided to turn this into a mini label/distro. While I have been doing the distro thing for a little while now, I've decided it is finally time for some releases! I have a few things in the works at the moment, and although nothing is quite solid yet I am hoping for a few releases by the summer time. Up until December I was working non-stop and now I have finally had a chance to pay proper attention to this and move forward with the money I have saved. Toronto doesn't have much to offer in terms of Metal distros and labels, and I intend to change that with Vinyl, Cassettes, and of course...CD releases. I look forward to updating on this progress!

Live Report: Ash Lee Blade, Joe Thrasher, Sanktuary, Possessed Steel, F,A,F,, Lethal Voltage

This ones an old one, but I only got around to putting it up now.

Lethal Voltage

Unfortunately I worked this day and ended up coming to the gig late, which is totally not my style but to be fair, it was an early gig , 7:30pm. I didn't get to see Lethal Voltage but I did get to talk to the bass player Sinan, who seemed like nice dude and gave me a copy of their demo. I'll post something about it when I listen to it! For now...unbiased.

F.A.F. a.k.a. Fast As Fuck

I missed most of these guy too, but I did see the end while setting up my table. Not much of a head turner in terms if music but they did seem energetic and stoked to be playing. Pretty thrashy but not exactly the fast as fuck speed metal I was hoping for. Will have to catch this guys again to give a proper review and a fair chance.

Possessed Steel

Knowing them personally I've heard their set probably 100 times, not the best but surely not the worst. They tweaked their set with an intro that is a new song in progress...about time boys. Unfortunately they are not using their full potential as I have every confidence that with hard work they could do well. I've heard them play the same set list for too long, spice it up and get some god damn recordings and then we will know you mean business.

Sanktuary


Killer band originally from the Yukon! Then moved to the big city...Halifax! Tons of energy and solid songs, I always look forward to Sanktuary coming to town. Alan's voice is original and doesn't sound like it suites him at all, but don't take that negatively, it's meant to be a plus! Early Metallica sound with balls and speed (and no selling-out)!

Joe Thrasher

Ottawa metal weights Joe Thrasher showing us their goods for their CD release! Played right and ready set, more than decent band but a bit to the generic side. There were a few standout songs, but not enough for me to work with. I guess what I'm trying to say is, there are better bands.

Ash Lee Blade


Toronto long time runners Ash Lee Blade...starting their set at 1am as usual. Good set but certainly not their best, I feel like the vocals are never loud enough! Definitely another underrated Toronto band. Last gig coming up at the Bovine, January 21 with Cauldron!